FANDOM


Baron
Baron
TypeAction
Effect+1 Buy, You may discard an Estate card. If you do, +4 coins. Otherwise, gain an Estate card.
Cost4 Coins
SetIntrigue
IllustrationRyan Laukat

Additional Rules from the RulebookEdit

You are never obligated to discard an Estate, even if you have one in your hand. However, if you do not discard an Estate, you must gain an Estate (if there are any left); you cannot choose to just get +1 Buy from this card.

The Secret History of BaronEdit

In an article on Board Game Geek, Donald X. Vaccarino commented on the development of Baron:

Going into development, the set had 20 kingdom cards. One day Jay said it would be better for him if it had 25. You know, stuff is cheaper at larger volumes. Having 25 kingdom cards was fine by me, so 25 it was. So I had to add five cards.
This is one of them! I looked through the ideas file for stuff that fit the themes, and picked this as a supplement to the victory-cards-that-do-something-else theme.[1]

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.