Additional Rules from the RulebookEdit
You evaluate whether or not Conspirator gives you +1 Card and +1 Action when you play it. If later in the turn you play more Action cards, you do not go back and reevaluate a Conspirator played earlier. For the purposes of counting actions, if you Throne Room an Action, that's one Action for the Throne Room, one for the selected Action played the first time, and one for the selected Action played the second time. For example, if you play Throne Room on Conspirator, the first Conspirator will be your second Action, and won't give you +1 Card or +1 Action, but the second Conspirator will be your third Action, and you will get +1 Card and +1 Action for that second Conspirator. Action - Victory cards are Actions.
The Secret History of ConspiratorEdit
In an article on Board Game Geek, Donald X. Vaccarino commented on the development of Conspirator:
- This was the last card added to the set, replacing a horribly broken card.
- The broken card had its admirers. Two of Valerie & Dale's playtesters wrote essays defending the card. But the card was often unplayable and then sometimes dominated. So some games it made worse by being a dead card, and some games it made worse by making other cards dead. Now what it did was cool, and it's fun to sometimes get turns where you make 50+ coins, which is how it got defended. It's fun to do something you don't often get to do. But it just didn't make sense to put out such a messed up card. I'll try to fix it up for a later set and well that's why I'm not telling you what it did. There was no time to fix it up when I came to my senses though. So instead it got replaced. With this card. I like it.