Additional Rules from the RulebookEdit
You must decide whether to trash Mining Village or not before moving on to other actions or other phases. You get a card and +2 Actions, whether you choose to trash it or not. If you trash it you also get +2 Coins. If you Throne Room a Mining Village, you cannot trash Mining Village twice. You will get +1 Card, +2 Actions, and +2 Coins the first time you play it and trash it and when you play it the second time with the Throne Room you get +1 Card and +2 Actions but cannot trash it again.
The Secret History of Mining VillageEdit
In an article on Board Game Geek, Donald X. Vaccarino commented on the development of Mining Village:
- Originally the first expansion had a one-shot theme. One-shots (cards that say "trash this," like Feast) were one of the most obvious things to do and I did several right away. The problem is, some people just don't like one-shots. Some people just don't like cards with penalties (although I do some here and there anyway, because some people like them fine and there are cool things you can't otherwise do); other people don't like the fact that the card doesn't end up in your deck. You know, you bought Feast, but you aren't playing a Feast deck, you won't even have any Feasts at all in the end. I don't know why, but that just rubs some folks the wrong way. Anyway the one-shot theme gradually eroded. Some went into the outtakes file, a few moved to other sets, some morphed into something without the one-shot part. Feast moved to the main set. The only surviving one-shot in this set is this card, and it isn't even a true one-shot, since trashing it is optional.
- For much of its life, the abilities on Mining Village were flipped. It was "+2 coins; you may trash this for +1 card +2 actions." When I added Conspirator, I thought they were too similar, and so changed Mining Village to what it is now. Everyone liked the new one better and so much for that.