FANDOM


Trading Post
Trading Post
TypeAction
EffectTrash 2 Cards from your hand. If you do, gain a Silver card; put it into your hand.
Cost5 Coins
SetIntrigue
IllustrationMartin Hoffmann

Additional Rules from the RulebookEdit

If you have 2 or more cards, you must trash exactly 2 cards and gain a Silver card. The gained Silver card goes into your hand and can be spent the same turn. If the Silver pile is empty, you do not gain a Silver card (but still trash cards if possible). If you only have one card left in your hand and you play Trading Post, you trash the one remaining card but you do not gain a Silver. If you have no cards left when you play this, nothing happens.

The Secret History of Trading PostEdit

In an article on Board Game Geek, Donald X. Vaccarino commented on the development of Trading Post:

This was originally in the main set, from way back when. When the main set went from 25 cards down to 20 cards, I cut this as being somewhat redundant with Mine. When we went back up to 25, I didn't add this back in; I wanted more variety. It does not seem nearly as redundant here. It's not the Smithy / Envoy problem; Trading Post and Mine are plenty different, they're just both ways to improve your money. It's more of a Smithy / Library / Council Room deal. But you know there was only so much space in the main set.
This card started out as "trash a card from your hand; gain another card with the same cost." That's incredibly weak, which was immediately obvious. After a few quick iterations I ended up with Trading Post as it exists today.[1]

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.